Rainy Day Clothes

Not one, but TWO items in this post! Admittedly, I did not make them both last week, but I’ve never blogged or posted them before, so I think this post is justified! I’ve actually been on a trouser making binge using the fantastic Juniper pattern by Colette, but I’ve not got round to photographing them yet because I’ve been knitting up a storm in time for Christmas! Much more on all these things in later posts, but now back to the togs in hand!20131015-091303.jpg

The yellow skirt is a Burda pattern from the May 2012 issue which appears in the same colour in the magazine. I actually made this skirt in Tokyo and it was one of the first really successful me-made things that actually fit properly! There have been quite a few versions of this skirt, but my favourites are TheWallinna’s super classy couture version and Saki’s beautiful spotty version with covered buttons. The pattern itself isn’t very difficult to put together, but the princess seams that give this skirt a kick-flare mean that there are rather a lot of pieces to sew together. 20131015-091340.jpgThe welt pockets are very deep and can be a little tricky to put together (especially with the hazy Burda instructions…!), but are so useful once they are done! The princess lines leading up to the waistband give a corset-like look to the top of the skirt making your waist appear smaller than it is.Β  I do wish I had added a waistband to the top as the skirt looks a little odd without it (I have cunningly hidden this with a belt!). As written, the skirt fastens with six buttons, but I added an additional button in place of the second snap. My buttons are a random collection of wooden shapes mostly because I don’t think I’d discovered Okadaya’s button floor when I made this skirt! 20131015-114118.jpgThe top of the skirt is fastened with a single trouser clasp. I made the skirt out of a very heavy cotton and lined the pockets with some very light stripy green and white cotton. The buttonhole facing is bright green to match the pockets and you can occasionally see it flash out when I spin in the skirt! I did make a green version in a much lighter cotton, but it doesn’t seem to hang as well as this pattern is quite structured. This skirt is very well travelled and has been on two trips to Europe, so while it is looking a little battered now, I think it should be fine for a few trips more! I plan to bind the seams at some point to prevent further fraying, but for now it’s a useful reminder that french seams on skirts are very worthwhile indeed!

20131015-091322.jpgMy shirt is also made from fabric I bought in Tokyo, but I did actually make it in Singapore! I love the ‘William Morris-esque’ appearance of the fabric, and as it is made from very light cotton, this top has to be the most frequently worn of all my clothes! The pattern I used is Wiksten’s Tova which I can’t say enough good things about, mainly because it lends itself so well to highly patterned fabrics. This fabric has such a busy print, I wasn’t sure if it would overwhelm the pattern, but it hasn’t seemed to have done so and I think the two work perfectly together. I have seen a number of Tova online that seem to close at the neck, but mine doesn’t want to do that! I could add a hook and eye to the mandarin collar, but I’m not sure the tighly closed neckline suits me! 20131015-091248.jpgThe shirt was very easy to put together, although I think I need to make the sleeve cuffs a little looser (why so tight, Wiksten?!). I still have a metre of this fabric left so I might try to squeeze another top out of it yet…! I wrote a proper review of the Tova pattern here, if you’d like to know more about constructing this top.

I really love the 50’s look to this skirt and I think the shirt helps to make the whole outfit a bit more interesting looking than it would otherwise appear! I do get rather a lot of looks when I wear this combination of clothes, but I think that may be because the skirt is so very bright, you can’t fail to notice it! It makes me very happy to wear such bright clothes especially as the days are getting a lot greyer here now that the rainy season is in full swing. I often use my extra colourful clothes to lift my mood – do you? Do you have any favourite me-made items that you use to remind yourself to finish things off properly?

24 responses to “Rainy Day Clothes

  1. Oooh I love your outfit! I’ve had this skirt on my radar for some time now (I guess since the mag came out in Spring last year, as yours is the first blogger version I have seen!) and seeing yours has put it straight back onto my list. Top is lovely and the colours of the two together are great.
    And I totally think you can pull off the closed neckline, too.

    • Thank you! It would look great with your new and awesome coat! The skirt seems to work better with heavier fabrics so it’d be perfect for autumn (I am so jealous of all the corduroys and wools appearing…)! Hmmmm! Maybe I need to add that hook and eye after all! I just feel a bit “posh English lady” with it done up! ;-)

  2. I love your fabrics. so bright and so unique.
    Yellow is my favorite and once again favorite color. your outfit is just perfect. yellow and green. what more.
    By the way, I was last summer in Singapore and i lived in Japan earlier too.

  3. Gorgeous and fun! The colour combination is just wonderful. That top is so much fun! I agree with rchsews, it also suits you closed. And every now and then “posh English lady” isn’t so bad (even though I don’t think you look like that with that keyhole opening).

    I also try to wear more colourful clothes in gray weather, but don’t always succeed, the grey is just so much more powerful than me! Though right now there is no grey to be seen, the trees are all yellow and red and all the other lovely fall colours. The lake is incredibly blue. I would love this season so much more if it weren’t so darn cold.

    I have a pair of perfectly fitting pants I drafted myself. But then I hurried through the finishing touches (I wanted to be done for the next day) and promptly cut a whole in the middle of the thigh section with the serger. Argh! So they remind me to leave things alone as soon as I start to feel rushed. I always make mistakes when I’m stressed or tired.

    • Ha ha! I’m no posh English lady even though I do have a BBC accent! Looks like I’m going to have to dig out those hook-and-eyes after all…

      Finland sounds beautiful! Can you see the lake from your house? I love crisp autumn mornings so make sure you enjoy them for me!

      You are so cool! Self drafted pants sound incredibly tricky! What a shame they have a hole in! Can you patch it? Did you make another pair?

      • I love the BBC accent! I watch documentaries all the time, hence associate it with knowledge. So you must be an educated English lady, which is even better than a posh one.

        If you want some Finland Pr0n, my friend has a Foto blog: http://luimupupu.wordpress.com/ It’s in Finnish, but the pictures are universal.

        We don’t see any lake from the house (too many trees), but it’s only about 5 mins. walk to one of them, 1/2 hour to another.

        Well, I took a pattern drafting class to get the basic pattern and make the necessary fit adjustments, so I feel a bit reluctant to take the admiration (I’m also very Swiss in that way :D). I did patch the pants, and because they’re grey (surprise!) it’s not realy visible. But stll, I know it’s there and it bugs me. I didn’t make another one, but now that I think of it, I might soon.

      • Ha ha! I’m not sure about being educated or posh (English reticence, see?!), but I do love BBC documentaries! One of the things I missed most about the UK was the BBC, so I was so happy to discover VPNs! Now I can watch David Attenborough and all the history/physics/random awesomeness programmed I like (and improve my posh accent!)! Did you see the one on knitting? It was fantastic!

        Five minutes from the lake sounds heavenly! How lucky you are! I will definitely have a look at your friends blog – more photos are always good news! We can see a few trees from our flat (but mainly grumpy mynah birds hopping around the carpark) & hear the boats tooting their horns as they leave, so it’s a lot calmer than most of Singapore! Still, I’m a little envious… ;-)

        I’d love to take a pattern drafting class, but for now it’s books all the way! I’m still very impressed with your self drafted trousers! I think we may need to swap colours for a while as my wardrobe just has super bright things in it! I need more grey! You should definitely make new trousers! Those last ones you posted were perfection! :-)

      • Hi! Sorry to reply late. I watched the documentary about knitting a few days ago, thanks for the tip! I then watched all of the following episodes of “Cloth of Britain”. It kind of makes me want to start making my own wallpaper and start embroidery… ;)

        I love hearing the sound of boats leaving harbour. It gives me a sense of adventure and triggers fantasies of far away lands, far more exciting than anything I’ve ever experienced. But there you go: everybody wants what they don’t have, and imagine it far better than what they do have. :D

        After seeing your skirt, the thought of making it in a bright colour was slowly fermenting in my head. So now I have to make it! Let’s hope that a remnant in bright turquoise flannel is enough to make it. That would be the perfect Fall skirt: bright and colourful, yet warm and cosy!

      • No worries! I’m not very good at replying at the moment because things seem to be getting busier this end! I missed the embroidery one, but the trailer was enough to make me give it a go, so maybe that’s a good thing!Very glad you caught it and liked it! Hurray for the BBC! I’m 100% with you on the boats! It makes me feel like our flat is actually a cabin off on an adventure! I can’t wait to see your new skirt! Turquoise is one of my favourite colours (I’m such a sucker for bright colours…!), so I’m sure you’ll inspire me to make another one!

    • Thank you! I do love the Zinnia pattern, but I’ve not got my mitts on it yet! Have you? I do love earthy prints, but maybe it’s because I spent a lot of my early life around mud…! ;-)

  4. Oh my goodness! So beautiful! I love <3 both! I think this skirt has it all: nice cut, flattering look on most body shapes and, most importantly, big pockets! My Kindle fits in! Thanks for mentioning my humble creation of old days: when time passes by I see more faults in it. Which means, I need a new skirt made from the same pattern and it's going to be something from Linton Tweed :) All in all, I adore your look and colours combination! What an artist you are!

    • Oh! I do love big pockets too! I’m not really a Kindle girl, but I can fit big fat books in as well as my bus pass and keys, so they really are massive! Hurray!

      I LOVED your skirt at the time you posted it and I LOVE it now too! A tweedy version’d be beautiful and perfect contrast to your new funky hair do! And you’ll get so much use out of it in London! ;-)

      Thank you for your lovely comments! I am ☺️!

  5. This is a real pick me up even all the way over here! Also the belt totally complements the outfit, I would never have guessed you were covering something up. Hope you get a ton of wear out of these :)

    • Thanks, Eva! :-) I’m so happy it picked your mood up (although it may explain why people look a little blinded here! πŸ˜‰) I’m also very glad my belt disguise worked so well! Hurray! πŸ˜€

    • Thanks, Ruth! I think we both have a blue addiction so I’m trying to change it up with some different colours! I fell head over heels for the print and carried it around the shop like a very overprotective mother! ;-)

Leave a Reply

